On hold: H.R.4213: Hope for UI deadline extension, relief from ‘temping penalty’


UPDATE 6/7/10: H.R. 4213 discussion this week; no fifth tier before year’s end

From the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives, follow proceedings as they are recorded. There is also a selection of live video, audio and podcast feeds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATE 5/28: No decision today on “The American Jobs and Closing Tax Loopholes Act.” From the Office of the Clerk: “The House adjourned pursuant to H. Con. Res. 282. The next meeting is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on June 8, 2010.”

This means that the programs funding the Extended Benefits, Emergency Unemployment Compensation, and the $25 weekly stimulus payment will terminate, as originally scheduled, on May 31. H.R. 4213 proposes extending these programs through November of 2010. See page 12 of the summary provided by the House Ways and Means Committee.

Please note that this affects unemployed individuals differently, depending on state of residence, current unemployment tier and a number of other factors.

Please check the links below for details on H.R. 4213 and related discussions.

(Expired updates deleted by author)

UPDATE 5/21 9:36 a.m. PDT: From the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives, follow today’s proceedings as they are recorded. There is also a selection of live video, audio and podcast feeds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The House Committee on Ways and Means is discussing H.R.4213 this week. This bill, called “The American Jobs and Closing Tax Loopholes Act,” would extend the current unemployment benefits program through the end of 2010. It also seeks to eliminate the dramatic loss of benefits incurred by some claimants taking on temp work as they seek permanent, full time employment.

A summary of the bill can be found here, with the issues in this post detailed on p. 12.

As of today (5/20/10), the $25 weekly emergency supplement, along with Emergency Unemployment Compensation and the Federal Extended Benefits (EB) are scheduled to expire at the end of the month (May 31, 2010).

Please note that this bill does not add extra weeks of employment (no Tier Five) for the millions of 99ers. It simply extends those aspects of the current program which are due to expire in a couple of weeks.

Here’s the Ways and Means Committee’s FAQ list about unemployment insurance.

UPDATE 5/21 From the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives, follow proceedings as they are recorded. There is also a selection of live video, audio and podcast feeds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
RELATED:

Senators Kerry, Reed move to stop benefits penalties for temp work

No Tier 5 extension yet: Here’s the contact list for senators, reps

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://annemaclachlan.wordpress.com/2010/05/20/h-r-4213-hope-for-ui-deadline-extension-relief-from-temping-penalty/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] May 20, 2010 at 5:55 pm H.R.4213: Hope for UI deadline extension, relief from ‘temping’ penalty « Here&#03… […]

  2. I am a victim of the tempting penalty as of May 1st.
    Because Oregon started a new BYE, my benefit went from 480-246, yes do the math, it gets worse.
    I could earn up to 160 in part time pay and my benefits wouldn’t decrease. Now I can earn only 80 before my benefits are decrease. My question which has gone totally unanswered is; If the bill gets approved in the senate will I go back to tier 2 benefits from the EUC ???

    • Hi Brian, and thanks for writing.

      H.R. 4213 was still being hammered out on Friday, and was in fact split into two aspects before the end of the day. That’s one reason no decision was reached.

      What’s next after June 8 resumption is anyone’s guess; it will depend on funding sources and political support.

      As for your returning to Tier II, I am afraid I don’t know. I’m guessing no, because if Oregon law is like California law, you have had to open a new claim after temp work. Senators Reed and Kerry are trying to address this penalty but I’m not sure how much input they’ve had to H.R. 4213.

      At the end of the post above, there’s a contact list for reps and senators. You might call your local people and see where they are taking this.

      The one hope? This is an election year.

      I wish you luck, Brian. We’re still in for a bumpy ride, I’m afraid.

  3. […] On hold: H.R. 4213 – hope for UI dealine extension, relief from temping penalty Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)California EDD and H.R. 4851 filing extension (NOT […]

  4. Florida benefits are $275 max. I did temping. At age 52, I am now living on $115 a week. I have a mortgage.

  5. I have a phone interview with CA EDD in a few days and am very concerned. The more I read, the more I think my claim will be denied.

    Background: I am registered with lots of temp agencies, but hardly any are calling with offers of work, so I scour the job sites looking to take on whatever ‘project’ I can find — mostly short-term office work, such as a filing or organizing project. We’re not talking big money here. I made only $10 an hour for a five day (part-time) project, and $10 an hour for another 40 hour project that was spread out over two weeks( also part-time, roughly 20-25 hours per week).

    The week that I filed, I was working at the latter project. I thought because I was working part-time, I would be considered “unemployed” and eligible to file a claim. Now I am not so sure.

    Thoughts anyone? Was I unemployed? Was I self-employed? Will I be eligible to collect on the claim (EDD has already established that I have wages in my base period on which I can collect if I am eligible).

    These are more odd jobs than anything else and very infrequent ones at that. I am kicking myself that I did not wait until I was through with that project to file during a week when I was truly doing nothing.


Leave a Reply

